The Union of European Football Association (UEFA) is the governing body of European football founded in 1954 in Basel, Switzerland. The society is registered under Swiss civil code and is completely neutral both in politics and religion. Established to foster and progress a sense of unity and cooperation in the European community, it was comprised of thirty-one associations and has now reached a total of fifty-four associations.

You're lucky! Use promo "samples20"
and get a custom paper on
"The Union of European Football Association (UEFA)"
with 20% discount!
Order Now

By 1960 employees totalled three full-time people, currently that number has increased to 535 comprising thirty-four various nationalities include administrators, coaches, secretaries, attorneys, and media specialists, the headquarters has since moved to the town of Nyon. Established to supervise and direct football’s constant growth the first decade saw an increase in new club events including The European Champion Clubs’ Cup and and the inaugural European/South American Cup.

Continuing in breakthrough innovations 1971 saw the inaugural meeting of the UEFA Committee for Women’s Football, and soon the game forged its own identity when in 1982 it celebrated the inaugural European women’s competition, and in 1989 becoming the UEFA European Women’s Championship.

While competitions were of key importance, essential new safety and security measures were implemented at football matches after the 1985 Heysel Stadium disaster when thirty-nine people died and 600 were injured.

Over the next two decades European football exhibited extensive expansion, owing to marketing, business, sponsorship, television and changes in the political face of Europe. In 2014, UEFA celebrated its 60th anniversary and continues with the ‘Football first’ philosophy and devotion to fostering and encouraging a collaborative European football family.