The Five Pillars of IslamThe Five Pillars of Islam are the five fundamental laws for every Muslim person to obey. The “shahada” states that there is only one God and Muhammad is his prophet. According to the “salat,” a Muslim prays five times a day. The “zakat” is a mean of sharing the wealth. The “saum” is the rule which states that during the holy month of Ramadan, Muslims fast from sunset to sunrise. Finally, the “hajj” is pilgrimage to Mecca, Saudi Arabia. In the Western society, where major religions are tolerated, Muslim can pray at mosques.

You're lucky! Use promo "samples20"
and get a custom paper on
"World Religions Discussion"
with 20% discount!
Order Now

However, if this is not possible, one can lay the carpet and pray in the direction where Mecca is located. As for the rest of Pillars, developed counties do not threaten practicing the fast, sharing, praying, and stating a single God. Only hajj is a matter of money. In addition, some works where presence is obligatory might hinder practicing the “salat.” For example, an emergency worker will not leave work at the time when one must pray as well as a teacher will stop teaching in order to pray in the middle of a lesson.

Baha’i Principle of Religious Unity
Baha’i Principle of Religious Unity states the world’s religions have the same source and the same basic message (“Baha’i Principle of Religious Unity and the Challenge of Radical Pluralism,” n.d.). Basically, other representatives of other confessions tend to deny other religions. Everyone sees the religion as the final truth with no deviations. Quite few people are interested in the origin of religions, their age, and factors that influenced on or another religion. Given religious people had a close look at other confessions, that would not be a matter of faith. This approach to other confessions is somehow scientific and atheistic.

  • Baha’i Principle of Religious Unity and the Challenge of Radical Pluralism. (n.d.). Retrieved December 14, 2016, from
  • Macaulay-Lewis, E. (2013). Khan Academy. Retrieved December 14, 2016, from